The Municipal Electric Association of Massachusetts – Communications & Energy Services Communications Awards are given each year at the MEAM-CES Annual Conference. 


Award Eligibility

  • Nominations may be submitted by any supervising Manager at a MEAM member utility or through unanimous nomination by the MEAM-CES leadership team (president, secretary, and treasurer).

  • Must currently work for or have recently retired from a MEAM member utility.

  • Must be the individual responsible for the majority of public communications at a MEAM member utility or must be the main communicator managing public relations for a major project or incident at a MEAM member utility.

Communicator of the Year Award Criteria

The MEAM Communicator of the Year award recognizes individuals who consistently demonstrate effective public communications and are recognized public power advocates with a reputation for being highly credible with a variety of diverse audiences. 


COTY award winners use communication strategies that demonstrate creativity and innovation in a public utility environment. Nominees should demonstrate exceptional leadership in addition to exemplary ethics and professionalism. COTY award winners are widely recognized as a role models for communicators and non-communicators alike and exemplify the best of MEAM member utility practices.

Rising Star Award Criteria

The MEAM Rising Star award recognizes exceptional communications, community outreach, or project management achievement of a public power employee who has been in the utility industry fewer than 5 years at the time they were nominated.

Nomination Process

  • Nominate candidates using this brief online form.

  • Nominations must be submitted by March 27, 2020

  • Winners will be chosen by the MEAM-CES leadership and confirmed by the MEAM Executive Committee

  • The awards will be given at the MEAM-CES Annual Conference 


Past Communicator of the Year Recipients

  • 2014 Winner

    • Sandra Richter, Middleboro Gas & Electric

  • 2016 Winners

    • Kate Sullivan, Holyoke Gas & Electric

    • Sean Fitzgerald, Westfield Gas & Electric

    • Karen Shooni, Hudson Light & Power Department

  • 2017 Winner

    • Rick Maksian, Shrewsbury Electric & Cable Operations

  • 2018 Winners

    • Jackie Pratt, Shrewsbury Electric & Cable Operations​

    • Ruth Slater, Braintree Electric Light Department

    • Dylan Lewellyn, Ipswich Electric Light Department

    • Brooke Czasnowski, Ashburnham Municipal Light Plant

  • 2019 Winners

    • Kelly Frazier, South Hadley Electric Light Department​

    • Becca Keane, Belmont Light

  • 2020 Winner

    • Tammi Lemire, Groton Electric Light Department​

Past Rising Star Recipients

  • 2020 Winner

    • Joyce Mulvaney, Reading Municipal Light Department​